I found a few other poems that really resonated with me and I thought I would share them. -EH

Walk With Me

Author unknown

Walk with me…
Walk in my shoes
for one single day.
Then you’ll see why
I need to pray.
Come live in my home
for a week or two
and then remember
I am just like you.
I didn’t ask for the things I was given
I didn’t choose this road I have taken
Walk a mile with me hand in hand
Then perhaps you will understand.

I’m not really complaining
about the stress in my life,
I know that we all have
some toil and some strife.
But walk with me, when you think
I am wrong, walk with me
and you’ll start to belong.
Embrace my sorrows,
like they are your own,
And then you will know me
And see I have grown.

The journey I take
is different from yours
My life took one of those
unexpected detours,
But this road that I travel
is not really so long,
If the people who watch me
will join in my song.
Listen to my footsteps
and watch how I dance
And then you will know me
and give me a chance.

Take heart and remember
It can happen to you,
who knows where my pathway
will cross over to you?
So speak to me softly
if you can’t understand
Remember I once stood
right there where you stand.
And walk with me gently
when the day is at end.
And then I will know
I can call you my friend.

My Child’s Name

Author Unknown

Go ahead and mention my child,
The one that died, you know.
Don’t worry about hurting me further.
The depth of my pain doesn’t show.
Don’t worry about making me cry.
I’m already crying inside.
Help me to heal by releasing the tears that I try to hide.
I’m hurt when you just keep silent, pretending he didn’t exist.
I’d rather you mention my child,
Knowing that he has been missed.
You asked me how I was doing,
I say “pretty good” or “fine.”
But healing is something ongoing.
I feel it will take a lifetime.

I Lost My Child Today

by Netta Wilson

In Memory of her Daughter Caprice Cara Wilson, December 2, 1968 – November 20, 1994
~reprinted from May/June 2001 TCF Atlanta Newsletter

I lost my child today.
People came to weep and cry,
as I just sat and stared, dry eyed.
They struggled to find words to say
to try and make the pain go away.
I walked the floor in disbelief,
I lost my child today.
I lost my child last month.
Most of the people went away,
some still call and some still stay.
I wait to wake up from this dream.
This can’t be real, I want to scream.
Yet everything is locked inside.
God help me, I want to die.
I lost my child last month.
I lost my child last year.
Now people who had come, have gone.
I sit and struggle all day long
to bear the pain so deep inside.
And now my friends just question,
Why? Why does this mother not move on?
Just sits and sings the same old song.
Good heavens, it has been so long.
I lost my child last year.
Time has not moved on for me.
The numbness it has disappeared.
My eyes have now cried many tears.
I see the look upon your face
“You must move on and leave this place.”
Yet I am trapped right here in time,
The songs the same, as is the rhyme.
I lost my child……. TODAY…….

