You have to take risks. We will only understand the miracle of life fully when we allow the unexpected to happen.
-Paulo Coelho

 

 

 

Everyday, I look around at the adults I see  and I wonder if they know how lucky they are. How lucky they are to be alive and well. To be able to walk, talk, eat, laugh and love are not things automatically granted to everyone. In the past 5 months, I have learned to savor all of these things because I have seen first hand, how fragile life is. It sounds cliché’ to say that but it’s true. So much can happen to you as a baby, child or teenager that it is really a miracle when someone makes it all the way to adulthood.

But that is not to say that we should all walk around on egg shells either. Risk taking is a part of life and without it, many wonderful things would have never happened. It was risky when the first Europeans made the journey acrossed the Atlantic to make a home in the new world. Did they suffer for their choice? Yes, to a degree, but look at the legacy they left behind!

That is why when I think about Jack, I regret nothing. I would do it all over again, I would experience Jack all over again, because he has enriched both of our lives so much. He gave us a reason to live to our fullest potential. We were on auto pilot before, just going through the motions, doing what we could to get by. We weren’t really enjoying or making the most of our lives until his sweet little spirit showed us that each moment is significant. Each moment, is very, very, special and having a baby, is a risk worth taking.

So I hope that when you look into a sunset, or feel a cool autumn breeze, that you will realize that you are fortunate to be here experiencing those things and that life is not to be taken for granted. Live each moment for those who cannot be here with us.

~EH

