Today I am writing about premature birth in honor of our son Jack, and in honor of the many, many, babies born early every year. Fortunately, medical advances in the Neonatal Intensive Care field have improved, and now babies born as early as 24 weeks have a chance at surviving. Just 20 years ago, babies born before 28 weeks were not considered “viable” (I hate that word). Imagine what could be accomplished in just another short 20 years? Research however is expensive and organizations like the March of Dimes work to provide the funds needed the continue that essential task.

To do our part in helping to fight premature birth, we will be walking this April and helping to organize our local March for Babies put on by the March of Dimes. The walk takes place at the Nankin Mills Interpretive Center in Westland on Hines Drive. I am planning to do a few different fundraisers and I hope you’ll join me in supporting our efforts. Consider this your formal invitation to be on “Team Jack”. We will be getting personalized t-shirts with Jack’s photo on them and I’m sure other little items as well. If you’re interested, email me at emilyhughes88@yahoo.com.

You never know when your life could be touched by premature birth. You never know when it will be you spending days upon days by the side of your baby’s isolette, praying for a miracle. I hope that you don’t ever have to go through that kind of trauma, but if you do, you’ll be grateful for organizations like the March of Dimes.

So please, in honor of this special day, Prematurity Awareness Day, please change your facebook status or tweet: “Today is National Prematurity Awareness Day, 1 in 8 babies will be born too soon. My life was touched by a baby born too soon, and I honor him today”.

Thank You.

~EH

