“Before you were conceived I wanted you
Before you were born I loved you
Before you were here an hour I would die for you
This is the miracle of Mother’s Love”.
— Maureen Hawkins

 This is my first post dedicated to our little Tater-tot. When I saw the picture at left, I couldn’t help but to use it. I know it is super early, but I love this baby more and more every day. It was the same way with Jack, the more he grew, the more I got to know him and love him. Tater-tot is very much his or her own little personality. We have a lot more cravings this time around so far and we are sleepier too. This might be because I’m a little more stressed out about things this time around also.

Things we are working on this week are getting our Innohep shots ordered by the pharmacy. They were shocked at how much they were going to cost and didn’t want to order them without reconfirming with my doctor. I told them I was fine with the price ($152.00 for one month supply) but they didn’t believe me or something. So now I have to wait for them to confirm the order on Monday, get the shots in on Tuesday and then hopefully I can get in to the Doctor’s to learn how to administer the shot on Wednesday. From what I understand, I have to inject the shot into my abdomen each day. Even if I had to inject it into my eyeball, I would do it, if it means Tater-tot will be ok.

While I’m taking the shots, I’m also on a pre-natal vitamin along with my folic acid supplement Folgard. Because I don’t really absorb vitamins like I should, especially folic acid, I have to take a supplement that has a higher dose than most normal over the counter brands can give you. It’s really not too bad if you take everything at night.

I have been concerned lately with some pains I have been feeling in my abdomen. I know it is normal to have cramping in early pregnancy as the baby burrows in to your uterine wall, but this pain is different. Sometimes it is on my left, and sometimes it is on my right, and the pain is sharp for a second, then it’s gone. I have read that women who’ve had c-sections often have a lot of scar tissue, which can tug on other organs especially during pregnancy. I’m hoping that is the reason, or that my hips are just spreading in preparation for carrying the baby. I’ve not experienced any bleeding so that is a good thing. I feel like I am ultra paranoid but I can’t help it. I feel like I was so naive the last time around and now I know just how bad things can go.

On the positive and funny side, the baby really likes a lot of fun foods. I drink juice like it is going out of style. I want canned beets and salad along with black olives. I’ve also become addicted to cheese. I wake up at night and eat string cheese. Like a mouse or something.

All in all, I’m just taking things as they come and doing my best to stay as relaxed and positive as I can. Every Friday, we gain a week and my goal right now is to make it to 6 weeks and our first prenatal appointment on Friday December 3rd. After that, I’ll set a new goal depending on what happens.

To wrap up I wanted to say thank you to everyone who has been so supportive in offering thoughts and prayers for Tater-tot. We really appreciate it.

~EH

