So for those of you who have been following our story, we are now 11 weeks and 2 days pregnant with our little Tater-tot. Today, we had an appointment with our high risk OB Dr. Mason at St. John’s Hospital in Grosse Point. If you ever need a high-risk OB, I highly recommend him (along with a dozen of my friends). During our appointment today the Doctor kinda dropped a lot on us all at once. Since many of you follow my story because you have experienced premature birth or have MTHFR, I wanted to share the details of our journey just in case you ever have to experience the same things.

It turns out, I not only have a blood clotting disorder, but I may have an Incompetent Cervix which can lead to premature birth or premature rupture of membranes (i.e. water breaking too soon). To combat this complication, I have to have what is called a cerclage, put into place on my cervix. For more information about this procedure here is a website:
http://www.webmd.com/baby/cervical-cerclage-to-prevent-preterm-delivery

The good thing about the cerclage is that it will stop the baby from coming out too soon, literally acting like a barrier to keep the baby in. The bad thing is, it’s a surgery which comes inherently with it’s own risks. I have to have a spinal block and that’s just never fun. But if it means the baby will come out cooked, I will do whatever it takes. Our surgery is scheduled for this Monday at 9:45am.

The next thing the doctor told us is that, most likely, I will be put on home bedrest starting at 20 weeks pregnant. That means, literally staying in bed until it’s time for the baby to come. I won’t be able to work, clean, go to the store, nothing. Needless to say, this has me a little stressed out. Dustin and I have begun evaluating our finances and we’re hoping for the best. I was on bedrest in the hospital with Jack and I’d much rather be at home, so I’m trying to look at the bright side. At least I’ll be in my own bed!

On top of these things, the doctor said there is a 100% chance of our baby being premature. He would be surprised if we make it to 35 weeks by ourselves. This was sort of a bummer because obviously we want the baby to have as much time as possible to develop. But the doctor said his goal is to have the baby be a “take home premie” and that’s our goal too. The reason for the earlier birth is due to my classical c-section scar. My uterus will most likely rupture if we are left to go farther than 36 weeks. It could rupture before than too, so I’m pretty much on uterus rupture alert 24/7.

Then to add just a little more spice to the mix, I may have to have my gall bladder removed! Pregnancy apparently can lead to gall bladder stones! Go figure! The doctor said it can be done laproscopically during the early stages of pregnancy. I have to go for more ultrasounds after the cerclage and then the doctors will determine how to approach that.

So you might be thinking at this point, wow that’s a whole lot, and I would agree with you. However, I do have some good news to share as well. Tater-tot is a BIG HEALTHY BABY! He/She was swimming and flipping all around during the ultrasound today and the doctor said tot is measuring ahead by 3-4 days. He didn’t change our due date but he was very impressed. And we got to see the babies heart beat!!!! Yay!!!

With that, I ask that you all keep us in your thoughts as we move ahead and I hope that by sharing this information, one day it can help other people. We count ourselves lucky everyday that we have Jack on our sides to watch over his little brother or sister.

Cheers!

~EH

