In my last post, I wrote about how I think about Jack the most when I’m driving. Today I thought I would share a couple of the songs that  lately made me think of him the most. The first is a new song from Christina Perri called Jar of Hearts. This song makes me envision “Grief” as a physical person, and many of the lyrics make me think of things I would like to ask grief if I could. Especially the chorus “Who do you think you are? Runnin round leaving scars? Collecting your Jar of Hearts-Tearing Love Apart”. Another lyric that is really strong is right in the beginning “I’ve learned to live, half alive” . Now obviously, if you watch the music video (which is a little weird) it is about a girl and a guy who broke her heart. But when you’ve lost someone like we have, your mind tends to make interesting connections to things.

The second song is the most recent from a band called Linkin Park, whom I’ve loved since my younger years and I’m happy they keep growing up with me. Their song “Waiting for the End” has many lyrics that resonate with me, in particular “I know what it takes to move on, I know how it feels to lie, all I wanna do is trade this life for something new, holding on to what I haven’t got”. There are also parts of the song where he mentions that it’s “not in my control”. Which obviously, we tried but we could not control what happened to Jack. Another part that really hits home is where they say “the hardest part of ending, is starting again”- this makes me think of trying for our rainbow, and how much courage it takes to keep going even though you are afraid every day of what will happen next.

So I hope you enjoyed these songs and that maybe you thought about them a little differently now that you’ve listened to them through my filtered view. If you have songs that remind you of something, I would love to hear about them.

~EH

