“Ever felt an angel’s breath in the gentle breeze?  A teardrop in the falling rain?  Hear a whisper amongst the rustle of leaves?  Or been kissed by a lone snowflake?  Nature is an angel’s favorite hiding place”. 

~Carrie Latet

This photo is of our Christmas Box angel statue at Michigan Memorial Park, a local cemetery near our home. You can see at the base of the statue there is a brick foundation. What you can’t see in this image is that on the other sides of the foundation, the bricks are full of engraved names. The names of loved ones lost, placed in remembrance of them. Jack and sadly, many of his friends, all have bricks there. Even though he himself is not in this cemetery, I find this statue particularly comforting. To know that there is a special place designated to where you can just go and remember your child, without bearing anyone’s judgement, is very nice. There aren’t many places you can go to just reflect. I have often thought about how nice it would be to find a catholic church with stained glass windows. Where I could just sit and enjoy their beauty and think about Jack. There is something special to me about cathedrals, especially old ones like Notre Dame. When I visited Paris it was the only place I really wanted to go. And when I went, I was blown away at the beauty of the windows. I suppose it’s funny to read something so spiritual from someone who was raised in an atheist home but it isn’t for religious purposes that I really cherish any of these things. I simply find peace with them, and comfort. Something about thinking of Jack as an angel, or at least as something that can still look over us from time to time is a comfort. To sit in a church and appreciate its beauty and enjoying the quiet serenity that you can sometimes only find in a church is comforting. I suppose if Jack were buried somewhere, we could go to his grave and have that special space. But we like having him at home. He feels like a special member of our little family, even if he happens to live on the entertainment center.

~EH

 

